CIE Student Area

Betsy Ross

How did the design of the flag we see waving atop government buildings, schools, and in our yards came to be? Betsy Ross, a Quaker from Philadephia, designed the first flag for George Washington with 13 alternating red and white strips and 13 stars in a circle resting in a field of blue. This was in May 1776.

On June 14, 1777 Continental Congress adopts the following: Resolved: that the flag of the United States be thirteen stripes, alternate red and white; that the union be thirteen stars, white in a blue field, representing a new constellation. Stars represent Delaware (December 7, 1787), Pennsylvania (December 12, 1787), New Jersey (December 18, 1787), Georgia (January 2, 1788), Connecticut (January 9, 1788), Massachusetts (February 6, 1788), Maryland (April 28, 1788), South Carolina (May 23, 1788), New Hampshire (June 21, 1788), Virginia (June 25, 1788), New York (July 26, 1788), North Carolina (November 21, 1789), and Rhode Island (May 29, 1790) (
The flag represents the union of the 13 original colonies and after signing of the Declaration of Independence, these colonies became states and therefore: The United States of America. The flag has continued to change since 1776 but that has to do with each new state being added to the United States. Even when the Civil War began in 1861, President Abraham Lincoln did not allow the removal of any stars.